Tree of Life (Disney World Attraction)

Tree of Life (Disney World Attraction)

What is Disney Animal Kingdom’s Tree of Life?

Celebrating all living creatures, the Tree of Life is the iconic centerpiece and the symbol of Disney’s Animal Kingdom park.

A Swirling Tapestry of Animals

Behold the breathtaking artistry of a sculpted tree that wordlessly expresses the intricate balance of nature. Located on Discovery Island, the Tree of Life vividly commemorates all living things—and the place they share—in the great Circle of Life.

At an impressive 145 feet tall and 50 feet wide at its base, this structure is home to over 300 meticulously detailed animal carvings throughout its massive trunk, gnarling roots and outstretched branches—invoking the diversity, beauty and interconnected nature of earth’s many creatures.

Animals that appear to magically emerge from the tree include:

  • Lion
  • Deer
  • Eagle
  • Monkey
  • Pelican
  • Rhinoceros
  • Hippopotamus
  • Bear
  • Tortoise
  • Lemur
  • Scorpion
  • Dolphin

For a close-up view of the animal carvings, take a stroll along the picturesque Discovery Island Trails, which encircle the great tree. You may even discover a famous mouse hiding among its branches!

Animal Encounters
Nestled amid the burrowing roots at the base of the Tree of Life is a serene landscape of pools, meadows and trees which are home to a variety of live animals, including lemurs, flamingos, kangaroos and tortoises.Tree of Life disney's animal kingdom

Inside The Tree of Life

A theater is housed inside the Tree of Life root system where It’s Tough to be a Bug! is performed. This 8-minute, 3D movie and multimedia show stars Flik and Hopper from the Disney•Pixar film A Bug’s Life—along with a supporting cast of insects and arachnids who provide a surprising glimpse into the animal kingdom.

Fun Facts and Statistics:

  • The Tree was actually built with an oil platform at its center.
  • The theater inside can hold up to 428 people.
  • The nighttime projection map show “Tree of Life Awakenings” began in 2016.
  • The four awakenings shows are named: Journey, Rendezvous, Gift Giver and Disney Medley.
Official Page
Walt Disney World
Original Attraction
  • Tree of Life (Disney World Attraction)
  • Tree of Life (Disney World Attraction)
  • Tree of Life (Disney World Attraction)

Disney Character(s) in this Post: