Disney Joins 30-Member Coalition to Fight Online Piracy

Last Updated on: June 14th, 2017

disney piracy

Image courtesy the Alliance for Creativity and Entertainment

It was announced yesterday, that The Walt Disney Company has joined 29 other content creators to form the Alliance for Creativity and Entertainment (ACE) to fight online piracy.

The 30 members of ACE include:

  • Amazon
  • AMC Networks
  • BBC Worldwide
  • Bell Canada and Bell Media
  • Canal+ Group
  • CBS Corporation
  • Constantin Film
  • Foxtel
  • Grupo Globo
  • HBO
  • Hulu
  • Lionsgate
  • Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM)
  • Millennium Media
  • NBCUniversal
  • Netflix
  • Paramount Pictures
  • SF Studios
  • Sky
  • Sony Pictures Entertainment
  • Star India
  • Studio Babelsberg
  • STX Entertainment
  • Telemundo
  • Televisa
  • Twentieth Century Fox
  • Univision Communications Inc.
  • Village Roadshow
  • The Walt Disney Company
  • Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc.

According to the  ACE launch announcement release:

By bringing together global creative companies producing all forms of content, ACE will expand ongoing, cooperative efforts to reduce the prevalence of online piracy. ACE will draw upon the global antipiracy resources of the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) in concert with the internal antipiracy expertise of the ACE coalition members. Specifically, ACE will conduct research, work closely with law enforcement to curtail illegal pirate enterprises, file civil litigation, forge cooperative relationships with existing national content protection organizations, and pursue voluntary agreements with responsible parties across the internet ecosystem.

More information about the Alliance for Creativity and Entertainment can be found here.


The Latest Disney News

About the Author

Craig Smith
I am founder and editor of DisneyNews.us. My passion for all things Disney goes pretty far back to my first trip to Walt Disney World in the mid-80's. I have since returned to the magical place more than 20 times. I started this site when I came to the realization that I spent a significant portion of my day reading articles about Disney and watching Disney content with my 8-year old, so it made sense that I would start sharing some of what I read and see and building a little community around it. Other interests include 80's nostalgia, vintage toys, video games, LEGO, Star Wars and tech gadgets. Other sites include DMR and VideoGamesStats.com.

Be the first to comment on "Disney Joins 30-Member Coalition to Fight Online Piracy"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.